Books That I have Loved

During a conversation with my husband, I was complaining about how I can’t figure out what to write on this blog. And in his usual way, he cut right to the point and said, “Why don’t you write about books?”

Um yeah, that would be obvious right? But I’m not going willy-nilly into this and just write about any old books, no sirree bub.  I’m going to talk about the books that I LOVE. First up, this lovely gorgeous thing.

Firebird

This book was actually my grandmother’s. When I was a kid and my family would make a summertime trip to grandma’s house and stay for several weeks. This was one of the books I always looked forward to pulling off of her shelves to read. I’d cuddle down in the reading/library area, grab this off the shelf and read it several times over. In later years, when I was a teenager, she rearranged things and I once found it under what can only be described as a sex manual. For same-sex couples.

Yeah, finding one of your favorite books in your grandmother’s house under THAT book? Let’s just say it was hard to look at Grandma for a while after that….

When Grandma passed away, I rescued it from my parent’s massive book-giveaway and have carted it across the country with me. The cover is ripping apart (NOOO!) and strangely enough, despite the many times I’ve opened this up to read, I never once noticed that it was edited by Jackie O until I stopped to take the picture. My eyes always travel to that amazing picture of the Firebird and completely ignore the text beneath it.

It only has four stories in it: The Firebird, Maria Morevna, The Snow Maiden, and Vassilissa the Fair. I always loved the Firebird, but Vassilissa the Fair was a close second. There are fantastic title pages for each story and the illustrations are amazing; they’re probably half the reason I love this book so much.

 

It’s a cold fall day here and which means it’s the perfect time for me to sit in a chair, drink some tea and reread this book for 1000th+ time. Which is precisely what I’m going to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

